A Case Of Nigerian Agip Oil Company and A Global Recruitment Scam Alert

This is a recruitment scam alert story reported by Bob Sterricker, it is interesting and informative. Please Read…

I saw a listing on Global Recruitment Inc website and pasted my CV/details for a position with the Nigeria Agip Oil Company.
Then I got this: “With the approval of the Management of Nigeria Agip Oil Company, we are delighted to formally offer you the Employment to work with Nigeria Agip Oil Company for the provision of Expatriates Relation Services for the period duly specified in your Offer Letter. Please find attached a Copy of your Employment Letter for your perusal and immediate action if the terms of work are acceptable to you. Upon thorough review and acceptance of this Employment Package, dot your signature in the space indicated in the last page of the Offer Letter and return same back to us via email attachment within a period of 7 days. It was an email sent from chrisobh@agipng.net who I believe is a fraudster.

Why I Think It’s a Scam The original email was not on letterhead paper
The employment letter had no telephone number on for Agip

The job was given without an interview

The job is full pay for 4 weeks on and 4 weeks off

They wanted me to buy expatriate medical insurance. It is only available in Nigeria and all other policies are not valid

I called a few times with different name and he always answered “yo, hello”, not very good for someone from an HR department.

I stated that I have expatriate health insurance already and he would not accept it.

I asked the contact number for the medical clinic so I can introduce myself as I like to speak to my future manager just to say hello, Chris refused and he could not give me any other Agip numbers

The expatriate medical details forms I was sent from Fortress Insurance PLC were full of typing errors.

I asked for a company brochure since he had been doing this medical cover for over 10 year and he ignored my request. He offered a 2 year cover policy ( which happens to be time of my potential work)

Advice
1. Avoid the company
2. Avoid people without headed emails
3. Ask unusual questions. Ask to speak to another rep from the office
4. Check the address on google earth so you can see if it is actually there.
5. Do not be tempted into any job where you have to buy medical insurance as part of the job
6. Ring the individual up using internet, or other numbers
7. Check out websites reporting scams. You will see template letters very close to the one you will get
8. A dream job with fantastic pay without an interview is just that — a dream.
9. Be careful- they are all scum!

Be warned people are out to feed on our desperation… Never pay for anything when trying to secure employment..

One thought on “A Case Of Nigerian Agip Oil Company and A Global Recruitment Scam Alert

Leave a Reply

